School Lunch…

School lunch. Gross. As I moved from my middle school into high school, I was hoping that the lunches would be better because it was a new district. They are equally unhealthy. Last year in 8th grade, my lunch was free, but ironically, we had to pay. When I say pay, I mean that when the city made the lunches free, they sacrificed the taste of the food and the fact that the it is edible. Living in Bridgeport and going to an inner city school changed my perspective on a lot of things in life. I started becoming used to being the underdog. Our school had no money and the little funding we had was excruciatingly hard to come across. Sorry about that tan git, just a little back story.

Last year, our lunches came in a prepackaged container. Most of the food looked worse than it tasted which is saying something because it was nasty. We didn’t even have an oven, we had a heating oven because the food was not actually made in our school. I along with some of my other classmates brought our lunch to school everyday so we didn’t have to eat the school food. I don’t want to sound like I’m complaining, but besides the fact that the food was gross, the more important point that I’m trying to get across is that it was extremely unhealthy.

Since 2000, childhood obesity has increased 240%! I believe that part of this is due to the school lunch system. Kids are in school for 1-2 meals a day for 180 days a year. According to those statistics, about a 3rd of the meals a year eaten by an elementary aged child who eats breakfast and lunch at school are unhealthy. I don’t want to generalize the USA, but Bridgeport in particular ,I know there are no healthy options. The school website says that sandwiches a provided daily, which is correct, but they are even worse than the hot lunch so nobody gets them. Overall, I just wanted to inform you guys about the unhealthiness of America and how we need to prevent obesity by starting a better school lunch system.

Link to Bridgeport Public School menu for this month: oct-elem-menu_2016-17          Note: when you look at the menu it might seem healthy, but that is the opposite. The food is what it is listed as, but not anything that your most likely imagining when u hear the titles of the “dishes”.

One thought on “School Lunch…

  1. I agree with you that most of the school lunch is unhealthy, but there are a few items that are not terrible for you. There are sandwiches and salads. The child obesity rates are insane!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

